Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

More meat, less meat, what meat?

More meat, less meat, what meat?There is often a discussion about meat and whether to eat it or not. Is it good, maybe even essential, or would it in fact be better for our health to not eat meat.

I was a vegan for a few years and vegetarian for even more years. I believe there are ways to get all of your nutrients through a vegan diet, but it is really hard work. Especially as we generally eat less (healthy) calories (it’s true!) than we need.

I also believe our bodies are different. Some of us, and I am one of them, need more protein. A few days ago I found this video and with Denise Minger. She is saying a lot of, to me sensible things. Like taking care of the whole animal instead of only the so called finer parts. To follow your body’s instinct to what it needs. Like all people who are somewhat opinionated there has been quite som controversy around her. So listen and make up your own opinion. What do you think? Does she make sense?

 

4 comments on “More meat, less meat, what meat?

  1. Janice
    March 7, 2013

    I was vegetarian for many years. I am happy to eat meat but small portions as part of a balanced diet. Our bodies have evolved to be omniverous. I see people eating far too much meat with little or no veg.
    Great post, thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Vitality2day
      March 7, 2013

      Absolutely! I agree, people tend to eat way too little veggies. I love meat, but also fish, shellfish and pure vegetarian. I think variety is the most important. Like the idear of eating the whole animal instead of only muscle meets 🙂

  2. Charlotte Henley Babb
    March 7, 2013

    There used to be a joke about a Christmas party that contained the line: “Even tomatoes scream when you slice them.”

    I figure that everything must die to feed something else, so I don’t mind being in the food chain–at least until someone figures out photosynthesis for people.

    Having said that, I can no longer eat wheat or milk products without side effects, and so I eat more veggies and raw stuff like nuts than I ever have before, but I still eat muscles and some organ meats. I’m not quite ready to suck the marrow from bones, but I will cook the bones down for broth.

    • Vitality2day
      March 7, 2013

      Sounds like you eat healthy. I think cooking broth is great and with such flavour benefits as well!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 7, 2013 by in healthy body.
Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Med karta & kompass genom livet

Om själens verksamhet med allvar och glimten i ögat

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

InternaleARTh

Finding the truth to good health.

The Libra Chronicles

I'm just waiting on that train, because the Fast Ones always ride for free...

shemovesinherownway91

I move in my own way :P

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

at wits' end

information overload

aho's homemade food

“The only time to eat diet food is while you're waiting for the steak to cook.” Julia Child

Kebba Buckley Button Speaks

Your source for energized, fulfilled, joyous living!

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Adrea in Wonderland

“I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

juliefornander

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Yoga Pants & Wine

the diary of a mom, suburban chicken keeper, feminist killjoy, fumbling fittie, wine enthusiast, occasional troublemaker.

