Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Never compare yourself to others!

Allow your self to be inspired, but don’t compare your self!

Today I had a great meeting with a new acquaintance. We talked about life, business and health. It was inspiring. One thing we talked about was the importance of inspiration, of surrounding yourself with people who are better than you at certain things. This is something I’ve always done. I’ve never understood why people prefer to work with people who know less and are less inspiring than they are.

However, there was one thing I got wrong. Several times. I started comparing my self with them. Now, if I’d compared myself on all levels and all qualities, it probably wouldn’t  have been a problem as we are all great at some things and less great at others. Unfortunately I only compared myself on the qualities that were their strong once and of course, always fell short.

This made me constantly feel I should do better, be better and achieve more. I found it hard to see my own accomplishments and even more difficult to see my own strengths. And as achieving was the only way for me to exist, it was like always being in an uphill battle. Never having a chance of “winning”.

Nowadays, I try not to compare myself. I still gather excellent, inspiring, glorious stars around me, but I allow them to be the stars that they are without bringing myself down.

The thing is, we never know someone else’s history. Their battles.Their processes. We simply don’t know, so how can we compare?

I believe that it’s crucial to find inspiration and people who inspire you, but allow them to be just that: Inspiration, not competition.

It might sound like a cliché, but it really is true: Nobody is as good as you are at being you. And you are born greatness!

 

Never compare yourself to others

2 comments on “Never compare yourself to others!

  1. juliefornander
    February 23, 2013

    So glad you give words to this! I´ve done it all my life, comparing my self to others that is. How cruel to oneself since it´s a goal you can never achieve, and why should you?!!
    Today I am better at not comparing my self to others. But sometimes i slip into old habits…
    I like how you but it, to be inspired by others instead is much more enriching!
    I´ll have that in mind from now on:)

    • Vitality2day
      February 23, 2013

      It makes me so happy that you are now comparing yourself less to others. And like you I slip now and again, but keeping it in mind makes it easier! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in healthy mind.
Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Med karta & kompass genom livet

Om själens verksamhet med allvar och glimten i ögat

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

InternaleARTh

Finding the truth to good health.

The Libra Chronicles

I'm just waiting on that train, because the Fast Ones always ride for free...

shemovesinherownway91

I move in my own way :P

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

at wits' end

information overload

Kebba Buckley Button Speaks

Your source for energized, fulfilled, joyous living!

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Adrea in Wonderland

“I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

juliefornander

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Yoga Pants & Wine

the diary of a mom, suburban chicken keeper, feminist killjoy, fumbling fittie, wine enthusiast, occasional troublemaker.

