Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Rock hard abs – who cares?

Well, apparently quite a few. When looking at health and exercise posts on Pinterest, google search and Facebook it becomes obvious that rock hard abs together with steel buns are what people want and aim for.

Now, don’t get me wrong, rock hard abs can be a great side effect to great exercise and healthy diet. However, it doesn’t have to be. You see having those “show-off-abs” doesn’t really tell the whole story. The reason why you want a strong middle is because you want great core strength and stability. This is what your body need to help it avoiding back problems, knee problems and better results when running, playing tennis or whatever your sport of choice is.

For your abs to show you need a low procent and quite honestly, loving weight doesn’t nessecarily mean that you are healthier. It might, but it doesn’t have to!

I look at this industry – the health and fitness industry – and I see so much I love but also things less great – and I wish we would all talk more about sustainable health and sustainable fitness.

How do we eat and exercise in order to live young longer? How do we workout in a way so that we can avoid injuries, have healthy bodies and envoy life?

This is what I want to do for me and what I want to help others do for themselves. And if I or the people I help end up having rock hard abs as well, great. If not – who cares!!

20130206-165114.jpg

9 comments on “Rock hard abs – who cares?

  1. Janice
    February 6, 2013

    Core strength is definitely what I need at my age 🙂

  2. vaterrell
    February 6, 2013

    Great post and I like your take on it! Thanks for sharing!

  3. -Emily Stoik-
    February 7, 2013

    So true, a strong core is so essential to having overall strength and health! A huge goal and passion of mine!

    • Vitality2day
      February 7, 2013

      Happy to hear that! Thank you for commenting 🙂

  4. juliefornander
    February 7, 2013

    Well said!
    I know after recently being pregnant what its like not having the abs to support the body as before. Finally I can start building them up again!
    Thank you for pointing out the real reason of why working the abs are important:)

    • Vitality2day
      February 7, 2013

      Great to see you here! Let me know if I can help you with exercises or even working out together! 🙂

  5. Pingback: The plank position – a challenge « Vitality2day

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 6, 2013 by in healthy body.
Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Med karta & kompass genom livet

Om själens verksamhet med allvar och glimten i ögat

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

InternaleARTh

Finding the truth to good health.

The Libra Chronicles

I'm just waiting on that train, because the Fast Ones always ride for free...

shemovesinherownway91

I move in my own way :P

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

at wits' end

information overload

Kebba Buckley Button Speaks

Your source for energized, fulfilled, joyous living!

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Adrea in Wonderland

“I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

juliefornander

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Yoga Pants & Wine

the diary of a mom, suburban chicken keeper, feminist killjoy, fumbling fittie, wine enthusiast, occasional troublemaker.

