Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Want to lose weight – are you sure?

In life we need to know why we do things in order to follow them through and be sure we are honest to ourselves. In Friday’s post Stella Scott writes about the importance of your “why” being very personal and that the “why” something between you and you. This has been my greatest challenge. Still is. It is easy to get wrapped up in other people’s expectations such as friends, parents and also unspoken expectations of the society.

Think about why you exercise. What are your goals? And why? For example, a lot of people tell me they exercise because they want to lose weight. When I then ask why they want to lose weight they look at me as if I’m stupid. But I mean that this is key. Is it because the norm is to be thin? Is it because you think you will look sexier in someone else’s eyes? Or is it because your parents are constantly nagging you about it? All of these reasons, as real as they are, are probably not “whys” that will carry you through the rough days when your muscles are sore and all you want to do is quit. If instead it is because you want to finish a marathon, you want to feel sexier in your own skin, because you want to be a healthier parents and that you want to have more energy or even that you want to follow up on your own personal promises, then you stand a chance.

Most of us get caught up in other people’s whys and thoughts about how things should or shouldn’t be. Try to move out of that space and into your own. If losing weight is your exercise goal, then make sure it comes from within and find your very own and personal why. Exercise because you want and feel like it and to achieve things that are important to you. I have a goal that I never said before because it felt superficial, but who cares?!

So, are you ready?

1 Set goals that are personal. Set goals for February and for 2013

2 Check your why

3 Then, tell the world about your goals and go for it!

My goal for January was to work out at least 13 hours and did 26,5 hours! (Really proud!)

My goal for febuary: Work out at least 16 times in Feb and to always end with a tabata to push my heart rate in order to speed up metabolism.

My goal for summer of 2013: feel comfortable running in sport top only (there it is, maybe shallow – but mine)

Why? I want to be faster and lighter in order to improve my time at the half marathon in Aug with at least 20 minutes!

What are your goals and whys? Please share here, I’d love to hear about them!

IMG_1158

6 comments on “Want to lose weight – are you sure?

  1. Anita Walton Levesque
    February 3, 2013

    Nice article. I agree, I think people set goals for other people, as they think that is what they should be instead of what they need to do for themselves. I think that is why a lot of those people fail. Thanks for sharing.

    • Vitality2day
      February 3, 2013

      Thank you! Yes, and very few people talk about how difficult it can be to actually know who you are and what you really want – regardless of people around you!

  2. jenn
    February 3, 2013

    my goal is to workout three times a week, twice at the gym and at least once with my mom’s group. Thanks for the post, I think defining the why behind the goal is critical. My “why” is so I can be fit enough to keep up with the Kiddo.

    • Vitality2day
      February 3, 2013

      Thank you for sharing your goals and your why! I really like your why. To have the energy and stamina to keep up with your child is such a great way to also be a healthy role model 🙂 Good luck!

  3. lizandrashaw
    February 3, 2013

    Interesting, Matilda. I do agree that we do a lot of things because of expectations that we allow people to place on us. I think that being healthy is a goal that speaks to me more than losing weight.

    • Vitality2day
      February 4, 2013

      Being healthy is a great goal, but only you know what you mean with healthy. For some people its having better stamina, for some people it is losing weight and then again for some people its gaining weight. Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 3, 2013 by in healthy mind.
Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Med karta & kompass genom livet

Om själens verksamhet med allvar och glimten i ögat

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

InternaleARTh

Finding the truth to good health.

The Libra Chronicles

I'm just waiting on that train, because the Fast Ones always ride for free...

shemovesinherownway91

I move in my own way :P

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

at wits' end

information overload

Kebba Buckley Button Speaks

Your source for energized, fulfilled, joyous living!

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Adrea in Wonderland

“I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

juliefornander

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Yoga Pants & Wine

the diary of a mom, suburban chicken keeper, feminist killjoy, fumbling fittie, wine enthusiast, occasional troublemaker.

