Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Zinc – boost your immune system and get better muscle growth!

This time of year in Sweden it seems as if there is always some type of cold or flu going around. Most people are tired of getting sick. Some are even thinking about vaccination. However, I strongly advice you against vaccination. I instead urge everone to boost their immune system. And not just around winter, but all year around!

But what can we do to affect our immune system?

I used to suffer from sleep deprivation and know how deeply it affects our bodies on every level and especially our immune system. In order for it to have a chance to work as it should we need regular sleep. Another thing that affects your immune system in a negative way is of course stress and also dissatisfaction at work or at home. Unfortunately, this is all linked in ways that can create a downward spiral. If you sleep poorly, it easier to get stressed and if you are stressed you might feel less satisfied both at home and at work.

To stop this spiral, and to boost your immune system in general I recommend you to review your nutritional intake. We often talk about vitamine C and maybe iron, but one mineral often overlooked is ZINC. Zinc is a mineral that we must have in our diets to survive. Several thousands of the proteins that make up the body contains zinc. Zinc is considered one of the minerals that we in the West most often suffer lack of. Additionally, Zinc is an important antioxidant. The white blood cells requires zinc to be formed, and when zink deficiency has been caused in animals, they are not be able to resist bacteria, viruses or parasites. Zinc is one of the many nutrients that body loses during stress.  If you do not get enough zinc, a deficiency develops relatively quickly

Thymus 

Thymus is an essential organ and an important part of our immune system. When we are born the thymus is as big as our heart, but gradually reduces in size and in people over 60 years, it has decreased so much that it has virtually disappeared. With regular intake zinc supplements this can be stopped and thymus can often recover to its former size and function.

Zinc and muscle growth and male potency

As iron is a substance that women generally need more than men, zinc is a mineral that men generally need more than women. Lack of zinc can result in reduced sperm count and reduced libido. Supplements with zinc is a common folk remedy for increased libido. As I wrote in the beginning of the text, if you do not get enough zinc, a deficiency develops relatively quickly. A deficiency will then inevitably lead to lower testosterone levels. As you probably know low testosterone affects both muscle growth and potency negatively. Zinc is not only important for the immune system, but also for your training and for potency!

Where do I find Zinc?

I advice you to find great supplements and also to increase foods high in zink. Personally I eat a natural multivitamin called LifePak from Pharmanex, which makes sure I get all I need to have a great immune system, and my favourite foods high in zink are oysters, pumpkin seeds, liver, lamb and dark chocolate!

Which are your favourite sources of zinc?

 

Oyster-plateau-Lyon1

 

10 comments on “Zinc – boost your immune system and get better muscle growth!

  1. Stefani (@SanDiegoHaven)
    January 22, 2013

    Thank you for this great post. It seems like the cold and flu are going around here in Southern California too. I’m going to get some zinc and add it to my diet for the next little while.

    • Vitality2day
      January 22, 2013

      Great idea 🙂 And remember, it takes 3-6 months to build our immune system. And if its really run down it can take even longer, so boost it right away, but then keep going! Thank you for commenting!

  2. lizandrashaw
    January 22, 2013

    Interesting post. I use a product called Cellfood, which has zinc in it. The eczema has started clearing up since I started using it. I don’t know if it’s got enough in it for what you’re talking about, but I do know that almost everyone I know has this year’s flu, and I don’t.

    • Vitality2day
      January 23, 2013

      Thank you for sharing! That is great news! Eczema can be really painful and affect your life. Glad you have found something that helps you from the inside out.

  3. Eula McLeod
    January 23, 2013

    My husband swears by zinc lozenges when he feels a cold coming on, but I can’t stand the metallic taste it leaves in my mouth. Nothing tastes right for several hours after only one lozenge. Does taking zinc in a supplement have the same side effect?

    • Vitality2day
      January 23, 2013

      I have tried two different zinc supplements. One pure and one in my multivitamin. The pure zinc was ok, but did leave a little bad taste after. My multivitamin however never leaves any bad taste and makes sure I have a good balance in my intake. Please make sure your vitamins are natural and not synthetic!

  4. Pingback: Are your eyes getting the nutrition they need? « Vitality2day

  5. Read A great deal more
    February 19, 2013

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your weblog?
    My website is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my
    users would truly benefit from some of the information you present
    here. Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate it!

  6. Pingback: Boosting Immunity Naturally With NutrientsALL ONE Natural Vitamin Supplements

  7. Pingback: Robert JR Graham » Nutrition Therapy Cures Everything

Leave a Reply

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

Med karta & kompass genom livet

Om själens verksamhet med allvar och glimten i ögat

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Vitality2day

Your help to sustainable health and redesigning your body

InternaleARTh

Finding the truth to good health.

The Libra Chronicles

I'm just waiting on that train, because the Fast Ones always ride for free...

shemovesinherownway91

I move in my own way :P

Sophie Bowns

“Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.” ― Gloria Steinem

preneedfuneralplan

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

at wits' end

information overload

Kebba Buckley Button Speaks

Your source for energized, fulfilled, joyous living!

As Time Goes...Buy

"spending 90 days in the wilderness"

silkroadcollector.me

An International company that offers private antique art sales to clients around the globe.

Adrea in Wonderland

“I know who I WAS when I got up this morning, but I think I must have been changed several times since then”

STAY HEALTHY with SAMANTHA

Just another WordPress.com site

juliefornander

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Belle Grove Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Birthplace of James Madison and Southern Plantation

Yoga Pants & Wine

the diary of a mom, suburban chicken keeper, feminist killjoy, fumbling fittie, wine enthusiast, occasional troublemaker.

